Topic Options
#6400 - 12/01/06 08:42 AM Ich Vulgaris - New to forum
spudpunk Offline

Loc: Canberra, AUSTRALIA
Hi Everyone!
This is my first post on this site. I am a 31 year old Australian woman, and I suffer from IV. My elder brother also has this condition,however not as severely as myself. We have no other known family members with this condition. I would describe my IV as moderate. This past week, the weather has been uncontrollable. Desert hot one day, Antartic conditions the next. Due to this, my skin has gone crazy. I feel like a human snake, with large portions of my body peeling off at a time. It seems no matter how much cream I rub on, my skin just can't seem to absorb it quickly enough. I work as a midwife, and had to take the week off as my hands look hideous. To top it all off, I could not find a Doctor (Dermatologist) anywhere remotely close to where I live who would review me. When I went to my GP, he had no idea what IV was, and he actually said "ewe, what's wrong with your hands"!!! And he's the doctor! I know I am preaching to the choir, but I really needed to debrief. Thanks for listening! Cheers - spudpunk

#6401 - 12/01/06 11:11 AM Re: Ich Vulgaris - New to forum
pauline5 Offline

Loc: Melbourne, Australia
Hi spudpunk:

I don't have IV ... (I have EHK)but i can definitely relate to the extremes in the weather really messing around with our skin as I live in Melbourne...

All i can suggest is that on bitter cold days, really rug up, and try wear clothing that prevents the cold wind from getting to your skin...this should hopefully keep it insulated and reduce drying and cracking...

what sort of creams and ointments do you use? also try visiting the Ichthyosis Vulgaris topic here, and i am sure there will be heaps of information for you...