Topic Options
#20480 - 05/06/08 11:36 PM It's kinda wierd but it works for me
feathaaaaaa Offline

Loc: Calgary, AB Canada
Well, after a couple of years of looking to this site for advice, I've finally brought myself to submit a post. I'm 33 and have had ich since I was born, and like so many of you, have suffered and shared every step of the way. When I first came on this site, I found an unusual remedy to keep the build up of hard skin in my joints at bay. I've been doing it for a few years now and really wanted to share it again with the newer visitors to the site.
Here goes!! Start by heading to your local hardware store!! LOL yup, it's true!!! You'll need to buy some 180 grade sand paper. Don't stop reading, I swear this is not a joke!! Tear it into usable sizes, and even pick up a small sanding block if you like, I did. Then have a really long, hot shower. You know, till your skin is really soft and wants to rub off. When you get out, just pat yourself nearly dry. jump back into the tub and start sanding all your built up skin away!! It leaves quite a mess, but it's easy in the tub to just wash it away. Then rinse off again, and apply all your lotions (I use vaseline)as you normally would.
I know this seems a bit wierd but it really works for me and I wanted to share. I've been actively involved in dancing since I was 3 and even toured for 7 years with a broadway show. If it wasn't for this pseudo remedy, I would have found it even harder to do all I had to do each day!! I no longer feel ambarassed to wear tank tops or shorts in the summer, or even head to the beach!!!
I hope it helps some of you aswell :-)

#20481 - 05/07/08 02:20 AM Re: It's kinda wierd but it works for me
Hearsay Offline

Loc: Richmond, VA, USA
Yup, we do that on hands and feet. We use the 100/180 grit emery boards from the beauty supply place. We also us a Dremel hand sander.

You're not that weird!!
I also have an unaffected daughter, age 8.

email: jennifer at confettiskin dot com