Topic Options
#19111 - 10/02/00 10:49 AM Periods and ichthyosis
Carly Offline

Hiya, well, my second post and I am jumping in with the heavy stuff...
Periods.
Yucko.

Anyhow, I was wondering, do you find that using sanitary napkins affects your skin more than tampons do? I started using tampons a year ago, and have found my skin around that area to be much less scaly, and cleaner compared to when i used sanitary napkins.

Just wondering...
Carly

#19112 - 10/08/00 03:56 PM Re: Periods and ichthyosis
Nikkster Offline

Loc: Philadelphia
Hi Carly,

I have never used tampons before, but I can see why they would make the skin around the area a whole lot cleaner. Would you reccommend them over using pads? Just wondering, 'cause I may haveta give them a try.

#19113 - 10/09/00 11:39 AM Re: Periods and ichthyosis
Carly Offline

Yes, i use both though,sometimes tampons hurt if my skin is too dry though.

#19114 - 10/09/00 07:04 PM Re: Periods and ichthyosis
Glori Offline

Loc: Elk Rapids, Michigan
I too made the switch to tampons exclusively, and have had good results. As for the dryness, I don't know if you mean the internal or external dryness, but let's see if I can help.
If it's internal dryness, use KY or any other "personal lubricant" to help insert the tampon with minimal discomfort. If it's the external dryness, again, most personal lubricants can help alleviate that as well.
Don't worry about jumpin into the heavy stuff, nothing embarasses me anymore [img]http://www.ichthyosis.com/ubb/smile.gif[/img]

#19115 - 10/10/00 10:28 AM Re: Periods and ichthyosis
Carly Offline

Sometimes I put a dab of my vaseline on the end, it works ok.

Also, i have to be careful which soaps i use to wash around that area, I usually use microshield liquid soap.

carly

#19116 - 10/12/00 02:51 PM Re: Periods and ichthyosis
Glori Offline

Loc: Elk Rapids, Michigan