Topic Options
#16937 - 02/13/07 08:37 PM Story for Pre-Schoolers
Candy Padilla Offline

Loc: Manila, Philippines
Hi everyone,
I'm Candy, mommy to Matti who's 2 1/2 now and has EHK. Thanks for your earlier advice. His skin infections now are much lesser. Thanks for all your encouragement!

My husband and I plan to let him join a pre-school/play school by March. The school teachers are asking if I know of any children's story book that will sort of touch on Matti's differences?

They've asked me to go to the school, read this story to the kids during circle time so they can answer questions about Matti's skin.

I'm a teacher working with children with Dyslexia and Learning Disabilities but I can't think of any book right now except for
"You Are Special" by Max Lucado...which by the way, made me cry.

Maybe some of you know of any story book? I know that using literature and metaphors are great ways to help children adjust to social/emotional issues.

Thanks for your help!

Candy

#16938 - 02/13/07 09:03 PM Re: Story for Pre-Schoolers
Angel24755 Offline

Loc: PA
I'm not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for but we have three favorite books in our house that teaches about being an individual, special, different, and being wonderful just the way you are.

The first is an older book called "Leo the Lop" by Stephen Cosgrove. My favorite line in the book (and the lesson of the book) is at the end and it is "Normal is whatever you are."

Our second is a book called "Giraffes Can't Dance" by Giles Andrede. It is also about being different and being special in your own special way.

The third book is called "Hooray for You!" by Marianne Richmond. It is about being proud of yourself, being unique and like the book says...it's "A Celebration of You-ness!"

We love all three of those books and all three have really beautiful illustrations. Hope this helps!!!
Lisa

[This message has been edited by Angel24755 (edited February 13, 2007).]