Topic Options
#16145 - 09/06/06 10:43 PM Questions
aylasmom Offline

Loc: Waterford ,MI
Any help anyone can give would be appreciated, and BeepBeep especially... I read some of your recent posts, and have a couple of questions...

What is transdermal water loss? What are signs of it? How was it diagnosed, and is it a common problem with CIE (or lamellar) ? I am wondering if it's something I should be worried about for Ayla.

Also, Ayla's skin doesn't tear easily or ever have open sores...I don't have to limit her clothes to 100% cotton, and diapers don't bother her at all...is this common for CIE (or lamellar)... ? Her derm has given her an unofficial CIE diagnosis, but I am wondering if it's wrong as she has never experienced those things that Ethan has...

I would appreciate everyones input-

Thanks everyone for help...I just want to make sure I am on the right track.. Ayla's only 4 months old, so I am still new to this.

Dawnn

[img]http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l65/fire28911/000_0321.jpg[/img]

#16146 - 09/07/06 02:52 AM Re: Questions
marcsmom_dup1 Offline

Loc: Wantagh, NY USA
Hi Dawn,

Everyone's skin varies, even if the diagnosis is the same. So, here is my story.

Marc has lamellar and he is now 9 years old.

I only used 100% cotton on him during the first year of his life. Since then, he has worn all types of fabrics and we have never had a problem. His skin does not, and it never has, torn due to clothing or the types of diapers he has worn. He has also never had any kind of open sores.

As far as the transdermal water loss....none here. Marc drinks a lot of water, urinates fequently, and does not get cold in the winter (he RARELY gets cold! [img]http://www.ichthyosis.com/ubb/smile.gif[/img] )