Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#10021 - 10/17/03 09:10 PM New Mom and Member - My Story
SusieL Offline

Loc: Raleigh, NC
Hello, my name is Susie and I’m new to the world of ichthyosis and am very excited to have found this website!

If you would indulge me, I would like to tell my story. It will be nice to share it with others who can actually relate to what I’m saying and may have had the same (or similar) experiences.

My husband, Alexej, and I are 27 years old and have a 2 year old daughter, Emma, who does not have ichthyosis. My husband and I decided it was time to have another, so we got pregnant with Andrej, my son. (Pronounced Andre.) I had a wonderful, healthy pregnancy with no complications.

In the evening on August 20th our lives were turned upside down. My water broke, so we headed to the hospital, expecting to come home with a normal, healthy, beautiful baby boy. We were totally unaware of the genetic time bomb we both carried, and how it could affect our children.

My labor and delivery was quick and easy. (Thanks to a beautifully executed epidural!) Andrej was born within 3.5 hours, and his daddy got to help the doctor guide him out! It was then that we discovered something wasn’t right. Laying in my bed on the other end of the room, I could hear the doctors and nurses saying, “What is this?” “I’ve never seen this before?” “What is going on?” You can imagine my fear and confusion as they rushed Andrej up to the NICU for further care. (Andrej was a collodian baby and looked like he was burned from head to toe. His mouth was stuck open and his eyelids flipped out. His ears were small and pinned flat to his head as was his nose.)